Show me the money! (Or DIY)

I never imagined how much money I’d be spending to indulge my sewing/machine embroidery habit. When I query “Neat Receipts” for a tally of how much I’ve spent on this habit that I thought would save me money in the long term, I’ve discovered that this alleged money-saving habit has manifested itself as a substantial long term investment. Yikes!

In an effort to wrangle the hemorrhaging of my purse into the cash registers of the craft stores, I’ve decided to employ the use of inexpensive alternatives or absolute DIY/hack whenever possible. Sure, there will be some things that will require a trip to the store, but I’m definitely trying to avoid it.

Sewing Room Enemy #1: The Shakey Sewing Table

I absolutely refused to purchase purchase a new sewing table to alleviate the shaking of my Husqvarna Viking Designer Diamond Royale. The machine sounds like a truck on a freeway and the shaking is something akin to a spaceship exiting the atmosphere. Onward to the simple fix…

Something was needed to absorb the shock, so I picked up a yoga mat. I couldn’t just have any old yoga mat, it had to be something that didn’t cost an arm and a leg. Thank goodness for dollar stores! I picked up a yoga mat for $2.99 vice spending $12 the same mat (same brand) at the big box store.

Sewing Room Enemy #2: Dependable Storage

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pam
    Jun 29, 2014 @ 01:39:54

    Glad you got something to absorb the shock. You really can do damage to the machine.

    Reply

  2. insearchofitall
    Nov 12, 2014 @ 21:34:02

    I bought a Diamond Royale a year ago and it gives me fits every time I use it. Have gone back to the store with it many times. They keep telling me it’s something I’m doing. I figure if I can sew for years on the SE, which sits next to the other, there is no way I can’t figure out the Royale. Do you ever have trouble with yours? I go through 11 thread changes just fine, color 12 won’t sew until the next day. Then again at 19. Grrrr.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

